skip to Main Content


Juan Trias de Bes (Barcelona, 1964) holds a degree in architecture (ETSAB, 1991) and opened the professional studio TDB ARQUITECTURA in Barcelona in 1992. He is the architect of such institutional works as the University Hall of Residence in Sarriá, the headquarters of the Academy of Medical Science of Catalonia and the Balearic Islands, the central office of Grífols Laboratories, the Mandarin Oriental Hotel (in conjunction with Carlos Ferrater) in the Paseo de Gracia, Barcelona, the Sant Cugat campus of ESADE University and the new Translational Surgery Research Center, among others.

In the residential development sector, Juan Trias de Bes has carried out numerous projects, from multi-family social housing to sophisticated dwellings, the former in towns situated in Barcelona’s industrial belt, the latter in the Catalan capital. The design of apartment blocks constitutes one of TDB Architecture’s main areas of research and they were finalists in the 2007 FAD awards for their “Block of 30 apartments in the Ronda de Dalt”. Currently, TDB’s housing research has an international component, involving studies in Columbia and Morocco.

In the fields of teaching and research, Juan Trias de Bes has been visiting lecturer in international courses offered by the ITESM program in Barcelona to students from Canada, the United States and Mexico, and has been a member of the final projects tribunal in the Ion Mincu University of hoETSAB. He was recently invited to the 2011 International Symposium, “Material and Form” organized jointly by the Construction in Concrete department and the Polytechnic University of Valencia. Since 2002 he has been associated with the International University of Catalonia, where he is currently Lecturer in Final Projects.

In 2009 he was recognized as proficient in research methodology on submitting his doctoral thesis proposal, “Architectural Materiality”, by the “Architectural Composition and Theory” department of ETSAB, focusing on the relationship between material and form and taking the figure of the Swiss architect Peter Zumthor as a reference. In 2013, under the supervision of Professor Jose Maria Montaner, he obtains a qualification cum laude in his doctoral thesis.


Juan Trias de Bes Mingot

TDB Founder in 1992
TDB Director

Pilar de Alós Espinós

TDB member since 1992
TDB Studio Management

Marta Pascual Marugán

TDB Partner
TDB Project Coordinator

Fernando Herrero Pfnuer

TDB Partner
Project director

Senior architects:

Carlos García Fernández

TDB member since 2003
TDB Project Developer

Mireia Figueras Novella

TDB member since 2014
TDB Project Developer

Junior architects:

Jordi Flores Puig

TDB member since 2014
TDB Project Developer

Alessandra Curreli

TDB member since 2016
TDB Project Developer

Quantity Surveyor

Ricardo Villoria Ferrer

TDB member since 2000
TDB Project Management

Macià Parés Grau

TDB member since 2006
TDB Project Management Assistant

External Partnership

Jordi Perramon Pellicer

TDB collaborator since 1997
Senior Architect
Project director

Maria Barcina Roda

TDB collaborator since 2004
Senior Architect
Project director

Jose Antonio Espinós de Pascual

TDB collaborator since 2010
Senior Architect
TDB Partnership

Habitual Consultors

ACOUSTIC: Higini Arau
ARCHITECTS: Francesc Buixeda, Jose Espinós, Matías Silva,
GEOTECNIA: Geotecnia
IMAGE: Optalia, Playtime
INTERIORISM: Blanco Roto, GCA, Rifé,
LIGHTING: Artec, Santi Rosés
MODELS: Pere Pedrero
OTHERS: Narcís Pozas, Toni Cumella
PHOTOGRAPHY: Alejo Bagué, Dani Rovira
PROJECT MANAGER: Bovis Lend Lease, Gerens, Otécnica
SERVICES CONSULTANT: Idom, JG, Ofiprojet, Ove Arup, PGI,


Alexandra Chacón (Ecuador), Alexandra Demetriu (Romania), Alexis Cogul Lleonart, Álvaro Velosillo, Ana Sofía Machado Lopes (Portugal), Beatriz Agulla Luna, Bhawesh Mophal, Carla Peracchi (Italy), Carles Alonso, Christian Lasser (Germany), Christian Leiben Amuser, Cristina Mora Porcel, Cristina Wendler (Germany), Daniel Arfeller (Germany), Daniel Espuny, David Kopito (Germany), David Ruiz Nogueras, Domenico Piemonte (Italy), Duarte Rato (Portugal), Fátima Parés Fabregat, Fco. Javier Villaescusa caballero, Guillem Carabí Bescos, Ivan Torres Ramón, Jasna Zanki, Jean Craiu (Romania), Joan Casals Pañella, Jose Antonio Vidal Vela, Justin Baroncea (Romania), Kelly Ung (France), Leo Toro, Lourdes Gaspar, Maria Carolina Furnaguera, María Galofré de Alós, Marianne Cortils Munné, Marianne Rie Beck, Matias Silva (Chile), Mauricio Galindo (Monterey), Mercedes Alegre, Mercedes Ramos Pérez, Miguel Verdugo Yepez, Miquel Roman Romero, Mireia Figueras Novella, Mireia Rafel Celada, Miriam Trybalet (Germany), Nuria Perelló, Oliver Frank, Oscar Flecha Quintanilla, Patricia Comín Oliver, Roberto Bano (Italy), Sara Dordas Carbonell, Sonja Popovic (Croatia), Susana Aires Marqués (Portugal), Teresa Ribeiro, Tomo Takeda, Wilson Mogro Miranda (Ecuador), Xavier Nicolau Cuyas, Xavier Sarabia Tamajón, Xavier Tàpia

Back To Top